Incumbents run Election Day in Bulletin-area elections

Changes coming to Shoreview and Vadnais Heights city councils

Many Bulletin-area incumbents were re-elected following this year's election Nov. 4.

All incumbent representatives on the federal and state levels will maintain their seats. 

Those running unopposed in Arden Hills and Mounds View faced no surprises; however, Shoreview and Vadnais Heights will see some change-ups next year with a new member joining each city's council.

Additionally, voters in the St. Anthony-New Brighton School District 282 approved two school levies. 

U.S. Congress District 4

In Minnesota's Fourth Congressional District, DFL incumbent Betty McCollum defeated Republican Sharna Wahlgren to win her eighth term. McCollum won just more than 61 percent of the vote; Whalgren received just more than 33 percent. Independence Party member Dave Thomas received nearly 6 percent of the vote.

Minnesota House of Representatives


DFL incumbent Rep. Connie Bernardy cruised to victory over Republican challenger Jeff Phillips with just over 60 percent of the vote. Phillips received just under 40 percent of the vote. 2015 will mark Bernardy's fifth term. 41A is made up of Fridley and parts of New Brighton.


In a three-way race, DFL incumbent Rep. Carolyn Laine won her fifth term with just more than 57 percent of the vote over Republican challenger Camden Pike, who received 29 percent of the vote, and Constitution Party challenger Tim Utz, who garnered 13 percent of the vote. 41B is made up of Columbia Heights, Hilltop, parts of New Brighton and St. Anthony. 


In the tightest Bulletin-area race for a seat in the Minnesota House, DFL incumbent Rep. Barb Yarusso was nearly caught up in the wave that put a Republican majority back in the House. Yarusso, however, won her second term by defeating Republican challenger Randy Jessup 50.55 percent to 49.28 percent. According to the office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Yarusso won by a margin of 220 votes. 42A is made up of Arden Hills, Mounds View and parts of Shoreview.


Rep. Jason Isaacson, a Democrat, has served one 2-year term and will serve another after beating out Republican newcomer Heidi Gunderson. Isaacson received 52 percent of the vote, with Gunderson receiving 47 percent. District 42B encompasses Little Canada, Vadnais Heights, Shoreview and part of Roseville.


Arden Hills

There were no surprises in Arden Hills; running unopposed, Mayor David Grant won his second term. Council member Fran Holmes went unopposed into her third term, while Arden Hills city government vet Robert Woodburn took over the seat of departing council member Ed Werner without a challenger.

Mounds View

There were no surprises in Mounds View, either. Unopposed Mayor Joe Flaherty will begin his fourth term in the position next year, while council members Al Hull and Carol Mueller, neither of whom faced competition for their seats, are each set for their third terms on the council.


Newcomer Cory Springhorn won his first term on the city council by winning nearly 25 percent of council votes in Shoreview, ousting incumbent council member Ben Withhart, who received just less than 24 percent. Returning council member Terry Quigley came out ahead of all council hopefuls with just more than 30 percent of the vote.

Newcomers Douglas Blomberg and Michael Iwerks garnered the least votes, with about 12 percent and 9 percent of the vote, respectively.

Mayor Sandy Martin ran unopposed and will begin her 10th mayoral term next year.

Vadnais Heights

Former Ramsey County Sheriff Bob Fletcher won a seat on the city council, knocking out incumbent Joe Murphy, whom Fletcher had targeted in his campaign for his support of the Vadnais Sports Center. Council incumbent Terry Nyblom led all council candidates with nearly 32 percent of the vote; Fletcher won nearly 29 percent and Murphy received almost 22 percent.

Council hopeful Dan Anderson received about 17 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Mayor Marc Johannsen retained his seat against challenger Greg Urban, the chair of the city's planning commission, with 58 percent of the vote compared to Urban's near 41 percent.

School District 282

Voters in St. Anthony and parts of New Brighton approved two school levy questions brought forth by the district. The first will raise the district's operating levy by $150,000 every three years, beginning in 2015, until 2024. The second approved question will raise a curriculum and technology levy of $450,000 each year. The previous technology levy expired in 2010.

Each levy passed by more than 10 percentage points.

The school board will certify the election results at its Nov. 12 meeting.

For more detailed results, visit

Mike Munzenrider can be reached at or 651-748-7824. Follow him on Twitter @mmunzenrider.

Turnout at 50 percent, down from 60 in '06 midterm

Secretary of State Mark Ritchie announced a preliminary and unofficial turnout for the November 4 General Election of just over 50 percent, based on an estimated 1,985,747 participating voters out of 3,945,136 that are eligible.

The number of voters and the turnout rate will slightly increase as counties submit their final voter statistics. Final turnout and election results will be announced after the State Canvassing Board certifies election results on November 25.

In 2010, a similar midterm election, Minnesota’s turnout was 55.81 percent and in 2006, turnout was 60.47 percent.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here