Incumbents victorious in Roseville-area elections

The political scene in the Review's coverage area will look mostly the same next year, with mainly incumbents re-elected in both the U.S. and state House of Representatives, as well as the county board and local municipalities after the vote Tuesday, Nov. 4.
Little Canada experienced the most changeover with the election of two new council members and a new mayor. Incumbents in U.S. Congress District 4, state House of Representatives districts 42B and 66A, Ramsey County District 3, Lauderdale and Roseville all retained their seats.
Congress District 4
In Minnesota's Fourth Congressional District, DFL incumbent Betty McCollum won her eighth term by defeating Republican Sharna Wahlgren. McCollum won just more than 61 percent of the vote; Wahlgren received just more than 33 percent. Independence Party member Dave Thomas received nearly 6 percent of the vote.
State House District 42B
Rep. Jason Isaacson, a Democrat, has served one 2-year term and will serve another after beating out Republican challenger Heidi Gunderson. Isaacson received 52 percent of the vote, with Gunderson receiving 47 percent. District 42B encompasses Little Canada, Vadnais Heights, Shoreview and part of Roseville.
State House District 66A
Rep. Alice Hausman, DFL, will serve a 14th term in the House after winning 67 percent of the vote. GOP challenger Jon Heyer received 32 percent of the vote. District 66A covers most of Roseville, Falcon Heights, Lauderdale and the St. Anthony Park and Como Park neighborhoods of St. Paul.
County District 3
Incumbent Janice Rettman, who has held her seat since 1997, will serve another four-year term after garnering a whopping 77 percent of the vote. Challenger Girard Goder received 21 percent of the vote. Ramsey County's third district includes Falcon Heights, the Payne/Phalen neighborhood, North End/South Como, Como Park, Frogtown, Summit-University and Hamline-Midway.
Incumbents Mary Gaash and Roxanne Grove were re-elected with 37 percent and 32 percent of the vote, respectively. Newcomer Jeremy Carr received almost 30 percent of the vote.
Mayor Jeffrey Dains, who has served as mayor since 1992, ran unopposed.
Incumbents Tammy McGehee and Bob Willmus, both finishing their first term on the council, will serve the city in their positions for another four years. McGehee was the top vote-getter with 40 percent of the vote. Willmus garnered 36 percent of the vote. Newcomer Kaying Thao received nearly 23 percent of the vote.
Mayor Dan Roe ran unopposed and will begin his second term next year.
Little Canada
Little Canada residents will see a couple fresh faces at city council meetings next year. 
Current council member John Keis ran unopposed for mayor. His vacant seat and one other will be filled by newcomers Tom Fischer, who garnered 22 percent of the vote, and Christian Torkelson, who received 21 percent of the vote.
The other five candidates, in order of number of votes received, were: Kevin Keenan (17 percent), Jeff Heikke (14.5 percent), Rocky Waite (13 percent), Andrew Henderson (6 percent) and Jon Joriman (4.5 percent).
The results of the election are preliminary until officially certified. The Ramsey County Canvassing Board will meet on Thursday, Nov. 13, at 11:30 a.m. to canvass the results of the election.
For more detailed results, visit
Johanna Holub can be reached at or 651-748-7813. Follow her on Twitter @jholubnews.

Turnout at 50 percent, down from 60 in '06 midterm

Secretary of State Mark Ritchie announced a preliminary and unofficial turnout for the November 4 General Election of just over 50 percent, based on an estimated 1,985,747 participating voters out of 3,945,136 that are eligible.

The number of voters and the turnout rate will slightly increase as counties submit their final voter statistics. Final turnout and election results will be announced after the State Canvassing Board certifies election results on November 25.

In 2010, a similar midterm election, Minnesota’s turnout was 55.81 percent and in 2006, turnout was 60.47 percent.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here