Candidate filing for some elected positions opens May 22

The first round of candidate filing for the Nov. 6 general election will open May 22 and run through June 5 for several elected offices.

That means, in the Review coverage area, filing will open for federal, state, county and some municipal seats to be filled in the upcoming election, including:


• U.S. Senate, two seats currently held by Amy Klobuchar, DFL, and Tina Smith, DFL.

• U.S. House 4th District, currently held by Betty McCollum, DFL.

• Governor, currently held by Mark Dayton, DFL.

• Lt. governor, currently held by Michelle Fischbach, GOP.

• Secretary of state, currently held by Steve Simon, DFL.

• State auditor, currently held by Rebecca Otto, DFL.

• Attorney general, currently held by Lori Swanson, DFL.

• State House District 39B, currently held by Kathy Lohmer, GOP.

• State House District 43A, currently held by Peter Fischer, DFL.

• State House District 43B, currently held by Leon Lillie, DFL.

• State House District 53A, currently held by JoAnn Ward, DFL.

• Ramsey County Attorney, currently held by John Choi.

• Ramsey County Sheriff, currently held by Jack Serier.

• Washington County Attorney, currently held by Peter Orput.

• Washington County Sheriff, currently held by Daniel Starry.

• Washington County Commissioner District 2, currently held by Stan Karwoski. 

• Maplewood mayor, currently held by Nora Slawik.

• Maplewood City Council member, two seats currently held by Kathleen Juenemann and Marylee Abrams.


A primary election for all the positions listed above will be held Aug. 14, with the possible exception of the Maplewood positions, in which the number of candidates will determine if there will be a primary or not. 

A special election for a five-month term as Oakdale mayor will also be held Aug. 14; candidate filing for that election is May 22 through June 5. 

Paul Reinke was appointed the city’s mayor in December 2016, after the previous mayor, Stan Karwoski, resigned from the position to take a Washington County Commissioner seat. Reinke’s appointed term ends in August, and the temporary elected mayor will serve through December 2018. 

A second Oakdale Mayoral election will be held on Nov. 6, for a full term in the seat running 2019-2022.


School board and municipal seats

The candidate filing period for school board seats and other city council positions will be July 31 through Aug. 14 — Lake Elmo, North St. Paul and Oakdale do not hold primaries for municipal positions and thus have the later filing period.

In the Review coverage area, school district and municipal seats to be filled in the general election include the following:


• District 622 School Board member, three seats currently held by Caleb Anderson, Michelle Yener and Amy Coborn.

• Lake Elmo City Council, two seats currently held by Julie Fliflet and Jill Lundgren.

• North St. Paul mayor, currently held by Michael Kuehn.

• North St. Paul City Council, two seats currently held by Candy Petersen and Terry Furlong.

• Oakdale mayor, currently held by Paul Reinke.

• Oakdale City Council, two seats currently held by Lori Pulkrabek and Bill Rasmussen.

• Oakdale City Council, partial term, currently held by Mark Landis.


For more information about candidate filing, go to the Minnesota Secretary of State website at


– Aundrea Kinney can be reached at 651-748-7822 or

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here