Filing closes, leaving East Side voters with lots of options

Early filing for the 2018 midterm elections in Minnesota closed on June 5, leaving voters with a plethora of choices to make in the upcoming Aug. 14 primary and on Election Day in November.

At the county level, there are three Ramsey County Board of Commissioners seats up for election that cover the East Side — districts 3, 5, and 6. For district boundaries, visit 

For District 3, three candidates have filed: Trista MatasCastillo, Jennifer Nguyen Moore and incumbent Janice Rettman. For District 5, Charles S. Barklind, James Jaeger and incumbent Rafael E. Ortega have filed. In District 6, incumbent Jim McDonough will run uncontested as the only candidate to file. 

At the state level, all state representative seats are up for re-election, as those seats run on a two-year cycle. In House District 66B, which covers a small portion of the East Side, three candidates have filed to run: David E. Richard, Republican; Trahern Jeen Crews, DFL, who also ran for the St. Paul Mayor seat last year; and incumbent John Lesch, DFL. The two DFLers will face off in the primary.

In House District 67A, incumbent Tim Mahoney, DFL, is running uncontested as the only candidate to file. 

In House District 67B, Fred Turk, Republican and Jay Xiong, DFL, have filed to run. The seat has been held by Sheldon Johnson, DFL, for nearly 20 years. Johnson announced in late 2017 that he would not seek re-election. 

In the 4th Congressional District, four candidates have filed to run: Greg Ryan, Republican; Muad Hassan, DFL; incumbent Betty McCollum, DFL; and Reid Rossell, DFL.

A total of eight tickets have filed to run for governor in the open race this year and will square off in the primary: Jeff Johnson and Donna Bergstrom, Republican; Mathew Kruse and Theresa Loeffler, Republican; Tim Pawlenty and Michelle Fischbach, Republican; Tim Holden, who ran for St. Paul Mayor last year, and James P. Mellin II, DFL; Erin Murphy and Erin Maye-Quade, DFL; Olé Savior and Chris Edman, DFL; Lori Swanson and Rick Nolan, DFL; and Tim Walz and Peggy Flanagan, DFL. 

In the Minnesota Attorney General race, East Sider Sharon Anderson, who has run for many seats many times over the years, including St. Paul mayor in 2017, filed to run as a Republican. Other candidates include Robert Lessard, Republican; Doug Wardlow, Republican; Keith Ellison, DFL; Tom Foley, DFL; Debra Hilstrom, DFL; Matt Pelikan, DFL; and Mike Rothman, DFL. The primary will decide who makes it on the November ballot for attorney general.

Election Day is Nov. 6.


— Marjorie Otto 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here